Getting in Shape

Eating Out Poll

Hey guys! My FI hates to eat at home and always wants to go eat out (which has helped contribute to my oh-so-lovely weight gain...haha). Although I try to cook as much as possible at home lately to help get healthier and lose weight, eating out is sometimes unavoidable. (I'm a first year teacher and spend at least 60 hours a week at school!) Where do you guys eat out and what do you get that's healthy? I would love some options so when he says "Let's go out for dinner" I can suggest a place that has some healthy/yummy options!! Thanks!!

Re: Eating Out Poll

• This is a tough one, whenever we go out to eat, I make sure to look up the menu online first and find a reasonable choice.  Get all sauces/dressings on the side so you can decide to use it or at least control how much.  Seafood also tends to be a safe choice, but make sure they don't cook it with butter. GL, my best advice is work on convincing FI it's more health and budget friendly to stay home and cook! 
  • Applebees has a WW menu, Chipotle or Qdoba can be lower point, Subway has tons of good options. Sushi can be a really good choice as well. Those are pretty much my go to options for eating out. Many chains have nutritional information available online, so I try to pick out meals before I go to the restaurant. For favorite places, I have a couple of options that I know are safe so I can resist temptation. Hope that helps!
  • Def agree with pp on applebees and sushi. Also, cosi's lighter side menu items are pretty good if you have one, and they've added some steak items so DH will eat there now. Avoid buffets and fast food as much as possible. One trick that works sometimes with DH is when he wants to eat out I tell him to go ahead and I'll make myself something healthy. Usually convinces him to eat with me.