Getting in Shape
Options

HELP! weight loss plateau...

Hello everyone!

I am new to the getting in shape board...but I have been getting in shape for my wedding (July 23, 2011) for the past 5 months now!  I've lost 20 pounds so far :-) However, for the past few weeks I have plateaued...  I am 5'2" and 147 pounds.  I would LOVE to get to 130.

To lose the first 20 pounds I did cardio/strength training 4 to 5 times a week for about an hour, and watched what I ate.  I still watch what I eat and for the past couple of weeks have increased my workouts to at least an hour and half of cardio/strength 4-5 times a week.  I am definitely increasing muscle tone in my arm, back, and legs but why am I not losing weight anymore?  And I would really like to target my belly fat... Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I should do to continue losing weight?  Thanks so much!

Re: HELP! weight loss plateau...

• Options
    raynesraynes member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited July 2010
    I watch what I eat, I watch that chocolate bar allll the way to my mouth. ;)

Are you tracking your calories?

If you are eating about the same amount as you were before, but increased the amount of exercise, it's entirely possible that you're eating too little.  If you net fewer than 1200 calories in a day your body really wants to hold on to the fat and slows down your metabolism.

That would be my first suggestion, looking at your food.

The next would be to switch up what you're doing in the gym.  Trade hour long steady state cardio session for 20 mins of HIIT, lift heavier weights, incorporate more full body, compound exercises (deadlifts, squats, etc) and just do different things.  Efficiency is your enemy when it comes to exercise.