Getting in Shape
Options

Poor College Student w/ extra 30 lbs

So I'm a very broke college student (like having $60 in my account at most after paying rent, food, books, etc) despite having a shitting waitressing job where I'm lucky to walk away with $12 in tips. I've recently weighed myself and I'm 30 lbs over weight! I love my body but I'm not ok with this.

Does anyone have any tips on eating healthy on a budget? Any workouts I can do in the hour between class without needing a shower? Any tips on how to stay motivated? Any low impact exercises?

I was super athletic in high school/middle school (volleyball, softball, basketball, track, marching band/colorguard) but college is work and school. Unfortunately all the activities has left me with bad knees to too much exercise leaves me limping for a few days so low impact exercise tips would be appriciated...

Re: Poor College Student w/ extra 30 lbs

• Options
    I would try riding a bike to work or classes? I tore my ACL about a year ago and in physical theraphy they always had me do the bike. The cost of a bike upfront may be a little much but it might save you gas money?
  • Options
    I'm a poor college student, too...totally understand!

I try to buy all my own food - it feels like you're spending a fortune on groceries, but I'll buy lunch meat, bread, cheese, etc. for a sandwich for what it costs to get the same thing at Jimmy Johns or another sandwich place on campus. 

As far as work outs - I'm a history major and thus do a TON of reading and writing. So I'll occasionally do some reading while walking on the treadmill or instead of taking study breaks to watch tv, I stop and do a bunch of crunches or jumping jacks (also helps me stay awake when cramming for a test, or something, haha). Basically I try to fit in like a portion of a workout here and there, because it's hard to block out a long period of time between classes and work.