Getting in Shape
Options

Zumba

Anybody have experience in Zumba? Have you lost weight, had more flexibility, stronger endurance?? Please share! I took my first Zumba class last night and I had a BLAST! But I want to know if it is worth my while to go once a week. What do you girls think?

Re: Zumba

• Options
    If you want to see results from Zumba, you should go at least three times a week. I'm a former instructor, and I know several people who lost a lot of weight by doing Zumba. You have to stick with it though and do it often if you want to see results. HTH!
    Anniversary Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • Options
    I've lost weight through Zumba, but like PP said, you have to do it more than once a week. I stuck with it more for the fun factor moreso than the best workout only because it makes me want to work out. I do pair it with additional weight lifting and cardio though.
  • Options
    If you consistantly do it...you will tone and lose weight.  I wear a heart rate monitor to my group fitness classes to see how many calories I burn and I'm averaging 600-900 calories per Zumba class depending on the intensity.  Its a fabulous workout! GL!
    Favorite thing about fall...Florida Football!

What's cookin'? BFP: May 16, 2011 DD born January 19, 2012 | Chart BabyFruit Ticker Anniversary imageBabyName Ticker

• Options
    I've never done it but my mom does and she loves it. She's sticking with it and has fun. She says its a great workout and its helping her tone up.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Options
    As an instructor, I can tell you that Zumba will help you lose weight if you're someone who does not do cardio. But it's like anything else--you need to do it at least 4-5 times a week for real results. Current recommendations for cardiovascular exercise (for everyone, including your grandparents) are an hour a day, at LEAST 5-6 days per week. That may include Zumba, running, spinning, walking 4+ mph, or elliptical, etc...but it matters.