Getting in Shape
Options

Morning exercise and breakfast?

Hi everyone,

Trying to get back into shape for my wedding next summer, and have started running again. I've been off this summer (I'm a teacher) and have been able to run at my leisure (ha, ha) 

Anyhow, I'm thinking of doing morning runs with my dog on work days since most days I'm so beat at the end of the day with the kids and have tons of paperwork to do in the evenings.

For those of you who exercise in the morning, what do you do about breakfast?  Do you just eat after?  Do you feel like you have enough energy?  Eating before isn't really an option, since it would mean getting up at like 5 am, which isn't likely to happen...

thanks guys!
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Morning exercise and breakfast?

• Options
    Ah - it's not just me!

I've been wondering this exact same thing. I'm a teacher too, and NOT a morning person. Last winter I was doing my workout around 730pm or so, but I'd really like to do a morning workout instead (and maybe an evening one too, if I'm extra ambitious), because I know that I'm going to have a bigger courseload this year.

I read somewhere that you burn more fat if you work out on an empty stomach ... but I've also read that you can't really give it your all without having eaten something. So I'm stumped. I figured that I'd do the empty stomach thing and see how it goes. I may wean myself into it. I have one week left of vacation.

I'm looking forward to seeing what others have to say about this - I know that there are a lot of morning exercisers on here.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Options