Flowers
Options

What to do?

Hi everyone I'm new to the knot and I need your help. The reception venue that I'm using works with a florist where they will give me 35 credit towards my centerpieces for the reception. However they seem to be alittle expensive on everything else like corsages altar flowers etc etc. Should I use 2 different florist or see if they can come down on the price. HELP!!!!!!!

Re: What to do?

• Options
    edited December 2011
    I would definitely recommend shopping around for a different florist for the corsages, bouquets and anything else you might need. If you get a quote that is much less than the venue's florist, go with them. Or you can take the quote to the venue and use it in your negotiation (if they think they're going to lose your business, they might be more inclined to work with you on the price).

However, make sure to check the contracts- because some florists have clauses of exclusivity- which could prevent you from ordering different arrangements from different florists. This usually doesn't apply when the centerpieces are being provided by the venue (or the venue's florist).

Hope that helps!

http://www.kiwicabbage.com
  • Options
    Maggie0829Maggie0829 member
    First Anniversary First Answer First Comment 5 Love Its
    edited December 2011
    Well the extra costs on the corsages and bouquets is probably to make up for the $35 credit on the centerpieces.  Do you have to use the florist or are you allowed to look around?  IMO I wouldn't use two different florists.  Each florist has their own design style and they may use different wholesalers so the flowers may not match.  I would take the quote you got from the florist associated with your vendor and then get another quote or two from other florists and see what they can offer for the same type of designs.  This way you can decide who your favorite is and who will offer you the most bang for your buck.

• Options
    edited December 2011