Wedding Photography and Videography Forum
Options

Traditional Photo Album

Is anyone having trouble finding photographers who can produce a traditional photo album with real photos, instead of photos printed on a page? I've only found one who does this, and his work is great, but very traditional. I'd like a mix of traditional and artistic/journalistic photography. The photographers I've found who work in the artistic/journalistic style provide only coffee table, flush mount or story book albums. (I'm new to this so I might be mixing up the names). Admittedly I'm looking at photographers in a small-ish town, but there are at least 20 or so photographers in the area who do weddings, and I've only found the one who can do traditional albums. Are these not done anymore?

Re: Traditional Photo Album

• Options
    edited December 2011
    You could either ask the traditional photog if he is willing to include some photojournalistic shots or ask the artistic photogs if they could create that specific type of album for you. If you really admire the artistic/photojournalistic approach I'd personally go with that style photographer. You don't want to look back on your wedding photos wishing they had been captured differently. 

In my experience photogs shooting digital will offer coffee table books, ect since they can artistically compile that type of media from your digital photo files. Photogs shooting on 35mm film usually offer a lesser amount of shots during the event and must process each print and compile them for you to proof. I think the majority of brides today like the option of more photos during their event and more artistic creativity in their album design, so digital photography and photo books are becoming more popular than traditional albums with paper photos.
    "If wine is getting in the way of your work, get rid of the work."
    Updated Bio
    E-mail Me!
  • Options
    Ericbennett1Ericbennett1 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011