Wedding Photography and Videography Forum
Options

Album vs. DVD?

I'm new to the photographer search, and from what I've seen online, most offer either an album, or a dvd with pictures (and rights) in their packages. Which is the better option? I do think a professionally done album is important and will certainly last, but is it more important to have access to all of your images on a dvd at your disposal? Does it all boil down to quantity vs quality? Advice please!

Re: Album vs. DVD?

• Options
    fallbride1109fallbride1109 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its Name Dropper First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I did both--but if I had to choose, I would choose the DVD (with the rights and pictures in high res) so you can print pictures for yourself and your family, and then you can always make the album yourself.  I made a professional quality album for my husband's parents and it was almost identical to the one we got from our photographer (review in my bio).
  • Options
    katie1carterkatie1carter member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    As a photographer myself, I agree that if you have to choose between the two, the DVD with the rights is the better choice.  That gives you the freedom to get all the prints you need.  Later if you want a professional album, you can always take the DVD to a local photographer to create one for you since you have the rights.
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    Thanks so much!! Since you're a photographer I've got another question for you...is there a big difference between high resolution images, low resolution images, and FULL resolution images? Obviously if picking between low & high I'd stick with high resolution, but I've never heard of full resolution...any words of advice there? Thank you!!
  • Options
    edited December 2011