Wedding Photography and Videography Forum

Are videographers worth it?

Hello girls, this is my first time on the photographs and video board so sorry if my question have already been asked. I was wondering for brides in the past, did you have a videographer and was it worth the cost? I already have a great photographer but Im on the fence about the videographer and not sure if it is really worth the extra cost.

Re: Are videographers worth it?

• edited December 2011
    I think it's really hard to justify in your budget pre-wedding, but most brides will tell you that post-wedding it's one thing they are glad they did. Photographs are wonderful but only a still memory of the event, whereas video gives you the sights and sounds of your day. If you can budget for it I really recommend it. It's really great to be able to hear each other say those vows!

Do your homework and search of videographers that are flexible in their packages. You may only want coverage for the ceremony, or you may find a great deal on all day coverage. Don't be afraid to ask vendors for a custom quote on the services they can offer you! Best of luck and happy planning!
    "If wine is getting in the way of your work, get rid of the work."
    Updated Bio
    E-mail Me!
  • edited December 2011

My FI and I have went back and forth about a videographer as well. I think we have finally decided we'd rather spend that money on another part of our wedding. We are very confident in our photographer, and know she will capture the entire day start to finish, beautifully!

We are going to have a friend of ours set up/man the video camera during the ceremony, just do we DO have that footage. It will obviously just be start and stop, without all the fancing editing-- but it will still be a great memory that we'll have on tape. He also said he doesn't mind taking the video camera around at the reception, interviewing people, getting shots of us and our guests dancing etc.