Pre-wedding Parties

Bridal Shower - What do I expect? Is it weird to feel uncomfortable?

Hello! I'm new to this particular board. I appreciate everyone's time and input to what may be a weird and long post.

Due to family members living far away and being the first of my friends to get married, I have never attended a bridal shower. My mother and sister (MOH) are planning on throwing a bridal shower for my in early April.  They plan on inviting woman from the neighborhood (where I grew up for 15 years and they have known me since kindergarten), a few other family friends from around town, the female members of mine and FI's family, and presumably a few of my friends.

I am having some reservations about this. FI and I have been living together for close to two years now, and I'm already very domestic and have items like a nice crock pot, kitchenaid mix master, etc as well as a full setting of silver that my grandmother gave me - the items people normally register for. We managed to scrounge up a decent registry of stuff we didn't have, china, and things we wanted to upgrade on (since we have a few crappy college make-do items), but my mother pointed out that this was not going to be enough of a registry for both a shower and a wedding (heck, it's barely large enough for a wedding at this point). I already feel weird asking friends and family to buy me expensive items from a wish list, and extending this even further makes my stomach churn. Not to mention that since FI is already back in school and I'll be back in as soon as he finishs, a house is not exactly in the near future, so I'm not sure what we'll do with enough items to fill a house rather than our two bedroom apartment w/ a tiny kitchen.