Pre-wedding Parties
Options

How to tell my FMIL I don't want her at my bachelorette party??

Good Morning Ladies!

Ok... so i'm a social worker and I RARELY have trouble talking to people about my feelings in a polite manner. But this one has me in a pickle because family feelings are on the line.

My mom is an ex-drinker and she completely went the other way and is against alcohol now. I am obviously not having her at my bachelorette party because my girls and I love to party and drink.

My future mother in-law made a comment/joke yesterday saying "I better be at the bachelorette party". I don't mind her having everyone at her house for some snacks and opening gifts, but once that limo comes.. I just want it to be me and my girls.

How on earth do I politely tell her that I just want it to be my friends and my future sister in-laws? I would risk having hurt feelings on both ends. But I care more about my moms feelings. If my mom knew that she was coming and not her, she would be hurt. And my mom knows the reason why too. I told my mom that I don''t want her coming because I don't want to have to watch myself with her and have her cranky because alcohol will be involved.

Please help ladies!
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: How to tell my FMIL I don't want her at my bachelorette party??

• Options
    edited December 2011
    hmm I don't think there will be a way around hurt feelings but it might lessen the blow to explain to her that you are concerned about the heavy drinking involved and thats your reasoning. Maybe tell her that this is your last hoorah as an unmarried woman and its important to you that you do this with your girls. Idunno though good luck
    10.2011 Siggy
    BM Dresses
    Photobucket
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
    *Updated 1/21*
  • Options
    trix1223trix1223 member
    5 Love Its Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011