Second Weddings

Planning Nightmare...Resistance and Distance

Hi, all...this is my first time posting here, so please be gentle.  :o  It's a long one, too.  Sorry!

This wedding will be my second, his first.  We don't have much money and weren't planning on spending much...just a small civil ceremony and dinner at a nice restaurant for those who witnessed the vows.  Really, we're simple people and don't want the pressure, fuss, or expense of a "real" wedding.

Understandably, FMIL wants a big to-do (FH is an only child), but we really don't!  My family couldn't care less about any aspect of our marriage (aside from my parents wanting to witness the vows) and frankly we don't feel the need to have anyone besides parents, siblings, and grandparents in attendance.  If there were a reception/party, my extended family would most likely show up; however, there's another problem.

FH's family is from New York (Long Island), and my family is in Western Maryland.  While our immediate families will certainly travel to witness the vows, I don't feel that it's right to expect the extended families to travel up to 4 hours for a 4-hour reception.  Regardless, FMIL wants us to have a normal ceremony and reception and is willing to pay for it all (which I certainly don't feel good about) but my parents won't (and can't) pay for much of anything.  *sigh*  This is causing me so much stress that I can't sleep at night.  :(

We really want to have a civil ceremony somewhere with only our parents, grandparents, my brother, and our 3 friends/attendants, then go to a nice dinner somewhere immediately afterward.  A few weeks after the ceremony, if FH's family wanted to throw some sort of party in NY, we'd go to that.  If my family wanted to do a small party in MD, we'd go to that too.

Does our plan sound reasonable?  What would you do in our situation?

Thanks for reading!
image image image

Re: Planning Nightmare...Resistance and Distance

• edited December 2011