Second Weddings
Options

Help! Dress shopping?!?!

This is my first time posting on this board-- I just got engaged 10 days ago.  I need some advice/guidance.  I'm getting married in October.  It's my 2nd wedding.  I had a HUGE big wedding the first time around with 250 people and a massive budget.  I was 22 and it was a fairy tale.

I'm 35 now, and have different priorities.  I want a fun and low-stress wedding.  Something that is meaningful to FI and me, and is an enjoyable, special vacation.  We're going to Vegas with DS8, our families and a few special friends.  I'm so excited!  It seems perfect for us.

My problem is... I can't figure out what to wear.  I want a shorter dress (tea length).  No veil or train 'cuz they don't feel like me right now.  I don't know where to look.  I can't get into the idea of going wedding dress shopping.  It feels like too much.  Then I look at department stores, and none of the dresses look appropriate for a bride.  I also look at dresses in terms of morgage payments now, something that didn't occur to me at 21.  I'd rather spend money on my house than a dress I'll wear once.

I want a dress that feels right for me, and I am a mom, who isn't looking to be a princess, but wants to feel like a bride.  Any ideas?

Thanks~
Emily

PS:  I have several friends who have gotten remarried, and had wonderful formal, fully wedding dresses.  I think that's completely acceptable if that's what you want.  It's just not what I want right now.  (I didn't want anyone to think that I was saying that I shouldn't/couldn't wear the long, flowy white gown.)

Re: Help! Dress shopping?!?!

• Options
    mybooboosmybooboos member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Congratulations on your engagement, and welcome to the boards!!

When's your wedding?  We love details...