Moms and Maids
Options

Giving my parents an ultimatum

My parents were always against me dating. It made high school pretty hard, but things got easier when I was in college and after I graduated and found a job. They never have tried to meet any boyfriends I've had even if we invite them along to outings, dinners, etc. They always avoided that subject.

I've since moved out of my parents' house, I have a good job, and I've found an amazing man who I am so in love with. He proposed a few months ago, and we are now in the process of planning our wedding. My parents were certainly less than happy. When I announced my engagement, my mom said, "I can't think of anything nice to say, so I'm just not going to say anything." My dad didn't say anything. They didn't speak to me for several months, even going so far as to throw me out of the house when I went to visit them on Christmas.

Now we're getting to the point where we are booking venues, etc. I wanted at least some input from my parents, even though I'm not asking them to pay for a single penny of anything. When I brought up the topic of the wedding, they went on and on about how weddings are so much of a waste of money and how people in general should just elope. They also scolded me for being a bridesmaid at my best friend's wedding, saying it's "a ripoff". After they finished that rant I said, "so does that mean you're not coming?" My mom coldly replied "Well, why should I?" This is after months of them saying horrible things like "we should have aborted you" and "I hope you get knocked up and have retarded, deformed little bastards."