Moms and Maids
Options

NWR: Mom rant

Just had a fight with my mother. Fuming and upset now. Which sucks because I had a great day at work. So here's my vent, and thanks in advance for listening/reading. Also apologize for the length...

I'm turning 24 this year, which is weird to think I guess. Maybe because my high school was having their graduation ceremony for this years graduates and I realized I graduated 6 years ago and my life is so not where I thought it would be.

I went to school 3 years ago and got my diploma to be a Licensed Practical Nurse. My goal was to become a registered nurse, but I thought I'd start with my LPN, and work my way up, get some work experience and all that. The program was paid for by my mother, and it cost in the area of $20,000 (private college, big mistake, should have gone public). I graduated the top of my class, which was a big accomplishment for me, and my mom and now FI were really proud of me, and I was proud of me too.

I worked in long term care for a while before starting a career in home care, which I initially loved, but my employers were less than stellar. I was not working out in the field as much as I should have been, and at times felt like a glorified secretary. I eventually had to quit, because I knew if I kept going, I would burn out and I didn't want that. Unfortunately, I live in a smallish community, and there are not a lot of opportunities for full time or even part time work here. The health authority is in a hiring freeze, and my only other option was to commute the nearby city, and even there, there weren't enough jobs to make it worth my time commuting. So after 3 months of maybe 2 or 3 shifts of casual work and no further prospects, I decided to go back to school full time to do some of the preliminary courses needed to get my RN. I'm on the waitlist for the program, probably going to be getting in next September, and I'm getting married next June.