Wedding Customs & Traditions Forum

Sorority girls?

Any ladies out there in sororities? If so, does your sorority have any tranditions for weddings? Are you going to embrace them at your wedding?

Re: Sorority girls?

• For some people what greek house they belonged to in college is a really important part of the rest of their lives.  For me, I graduated from college more than five years ago.  While I am still great friends with the women I was friends with while in college I felt no need to incorportate my sorority's traditions into my ceremony.

I invited my sisters (the ones I am close to) and we had a blast at the reception together.  It was wonderful having them there.  That was the extent of my sorority's involvement.

• I know of candle passings for engagements, but nothing for weddings.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • I belonged to an Alpha chapter of a sorority and we have a special song and candle pass that we do at all the weddings.  I have a group of 8 girlfriends and at each wedding we sing the song during the reception.  I am also debating wearing my pin on my dress somewhere, but I'm not sure if I will actually do it. 
    Jan 2011 January SC- Wedding Rings
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic Visit The Knot! Visit The Knot! Wedding Countdown Ticker
    396 were invited image
    250 will be there!image
    146 are missing outimage
    0 are still thinkingimage
    RSVP Date: December 15th
  • 3 of my bridal party members, including both my Matron and Maid of honor, are DG sisters. These girls are my rock. I've been out of college 3 years, but I am still highly involved with DG, both in the alumni association and as an adviser to the local chapter in Memphis.