Wedding Customs & Traditions Forum
Options

Catholic wedding question

Hi girls,

This is my first time posting on this board, and I hope you can help.

For those who have a Catholic ceremony, did you invite the priest who preformed the ceremony to the reception?  I don't know if tradition, or just something people who are close with their priest have done. 

Thanks girls!
BabyFruit Ticker

Re: Catholic wedding question

• Options
    I am really close with my Priest since my FI started the RCIA program and we meet with him and the Deacon twice a week so I am inviting them both. I would say if you are close to him and want him there than invite him, but I haven't been to a Catholic wedding yet where the Priest was invited to the reception (or at least showed up)
  • Options
    The general rule is that you should invite the priest who is performing your wedding to your reception. Odds are that, unless he is very close to you, he will not attend, because he has other things (like Saturday vigil mass, if you're marrying on a Saturday afternoon) to do.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options
    In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/wedding-boards_customs-traditions_catholic-wedding-question?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Wedding BoardsForum:36Discussion:db28907d-552a-4801-b750-7679e09b764aPost:7e12c67f-888b-48b6-a16d-3fc7d4dcd009">Re: Catholic wedding question</a>:
    [QUOTE]The general rule is that you should invite the priest who is performing your wedding to your reception. Odds are that, unless he is very close to you, he will not attend, because he has other things (like Saturday vigil mass, if you're marrying on a Saturday afternoon) to do.
    Posted by bibliophile2010[/QUOTE]

I agree!  If you have other questions that are specific to Catholicism there is a Catholic Wedding Board under "Cultural Wedding Boards".

Daisypath Anniversary tickers

• Options