Wedding Customs & Traditions Forum
Options

Changing Name Before Wedding?

I am a high school teacher getting married in October and starting at a new school in August. We have considered having my name changed legally before the wedding so that all of my new paperwork is in my married name, and that I would be referred to as one name, instead of going a couple months as Ms. Maiden Name, then trying to switch over to Mrs. Married Name. I know getting married this summer would have made logical sense, but the school change was not planned and October meant a lot to us. This probably seems silly, but I'm just wondering how professional women deal with name changes.
Wedding Countdown Ticker edited

Re: Changing Name Before Wedding?

• Options
    From what I understand it is a lot easier to change your name with a marriage license.
    Proud to be an old married hag!! image
  • Options
    If you are serious, you'll need to get started now.  It varies by state, but the legal name change process takes a couple of months pretty much anywhere.  You might not have time to get it done before school starts.  

If it's that big of a deal, I don't think it would matter if you used your new name early or waited until the end of the semester to change.  It takes a little while to get the paperwork and hassle done after the wedding, so your legal name very well may not be changed until December anyway.  

Honestly, though, if they're in high school, I think they can deal with a name change mid-semester.  Surely by that age they understand that some women change their names when they get married and have known people who've done it.  I mean, I was younger than that when I made the decision that I wouldn't change my name.
  • Options