Wedding Party
Options

Should I be a bridesmaid for her?

I was recently contacted by the fiance of my fiance's best friend. She asked me if I would be in their wedding. She said "I don't know what everyone will be doing yet but you'll probably be a bridesmaid". While I am flattered that she asked I've only been in the same room as her twice. I felt cornered and told her I thought it was very sweet that she thought to ask and I'd love to.Here's the problem. I'm a college student with NO disposable income. AND I'm already in a wedding next year as a hostess for a friend I've been around more than twice. I know I won't be able to afford to buy everything she'll probably ask for (the dress mainly but also if she wants nails, hair, etc. plus how are the parties paid for?!). What do I do? Do I call and just flat out say I realized I can't because of my budget? Do I call and say I can't be a bridesmaid because of money but I'd love to do something else if she needs it (usher, etc.) I don't want to be rude but I really can't afford this and think it's insane that she'd want me up there when we're not close at all.

Re: Should I be a bridesmaid for her?

• Options
    Well, if she is a nice bride and decides to treat her friends like friends, she won't require you to get your hair, nails, etc professionally done at your expense.  It's also polite for whoever is planning parties to ask everyone involved how much they are able to spend before planning said parties.  It's unfortunate that you've already said yes, because that definitely makes things harder.  Maybe you should just talk to her and tell her your concerns, and let her know up front that they are things you may not be able to do.  If she's okay with this, then I would suck it up and be in her wedding.  I can't help you on why she asked- seems odd to me to, but since she asked and you said yes I would probably do it unless financially you can't.
  • Options