Texas-San Antonio

Need help for Dec wedding

Hi girls,
I'm fairly new to SAT and planning a wedding for December 11 this year!  We can do it here and have to invite a lot more people (my fiance's lived here a long time), or back in NY where my family is, which would end up being less people. Still reveiwing guest lists, details, prices, etc.  That's where I could use some help.

We are on a budget of about $10K looking at 50-70 people, depending where we have it.  In the suburbs of NY(Long Island) I found a nice place for $65/pp with food and open bar, plus photo/video/DJ another $3-$4K.

How does this compare to places here. I feel like with so many people coming from out of town to San Antonio we should do it on the Riverwalk. (most would fly in Friday night and out Sunday morning). I've just started calling places and looking around but would love any advice from you all. What are the best venues and what do they run pp? How much for professional photographer and video?

Thanks a bunch!

Re: Need help for Dec wedding

• TTiger03TTiger03 member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I'm not certain of the prices, but my sister's was at Hotel Valencia and it should be within your range.  My friend used Westin Riverwalk.  There are a ton of hotels on the riverwalk, so I'm sure you can find one that will work well for you.  The biggest issue for both of these was the parking.  The hotels usually have valet, but it can be expensive per car.

I think most of the hotels downtown charge a minimum food rate and the ball room is included (at least from what I've seen).  I think my sister's was $5000 or $6000 minimum.  She had 80 guests.  - That was not including the flowers, photos, cakes, etc.  I think my sisters was around 10-12K in the end.

Since your fiance's family has been here a while, why don't you ask them if they have been to any weddings downtown?