Chinese Weddings

Wearing black to a spring wedding?

I am fairly new to my engagement, don't have a secure wedding date, yet, nor have I set a dress code, yet (one step at a time, please!), andI just learned from my mom that my SIL has already bought a  "formal" dress to wear for my wedding.  I was surprised to hear that she already got a dress for an event which she has no clue will be like.  I haven't told anyone that we are thinking of an outdoor ceremony, evening indoors reception, etc.  Everything is in the preliminary stage for me.  I am thinking, why the heck did she buy a dress so far in advance without even knowing anything about the wedding?Another thing, her dress is black.  When I heard that, my alarm went off.  Knowing her, who is super superstitious (I wasn't allowed to attend her wedding/engagement ceremony because I was the sister of the groom, and she seated me allll the way in the back at her reception to sit with strangers.), I am surprised that she picked black to wear to a joyous event?  Isn't it a taboo color for weddings, Asian or not?  I find it a bit insulting, especially knowing she's very superstitious - I almost feel like she has malicious intent.What do you guys think?  I hope her dress is not solid black, or I might just tell her to get another dress.  I am rather annoyed with my brother and my sil for other reasons, as is, so this is bothering me even more than I would normally be. lol
BabyFruit Ticker

Re: Wearing black to a spring wedding?

• ring_popring_pop member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011