Jewish Weddings

Hello There! (intro)

Hi there. Just wanted to properly intro myself before posting. I'm usually on NEY but thought I'd come over here to learn. So happy to know there is a community of other Jewish ladies here; I often feel very alone in my circle of friends, I'm usually the token Jew.

Well, I'm a recent college graduate, 23 years old. BF is also 23. We've been together 2 years. We both work full time and are moving in together on Sept. 1st. We have been seriously talking about marriage for a long time. He has a ring, but has not proposed yet.

BF was raised in a mixed marriage - mother is Catholic, father is Jewish (non-observant). He grew up celebrating Christmas and Hannukah, but that is it. He had never been to a service until he attended with me on Rosh Hashana last year.

When we first started discussing marriage, I was very firm that I wanted to have a Jewish ceremony. I did not want to lose my Jewish identity. Growing up as one of very few practicing Jews in my town, I am very fierce about defending my religion. I told him he did not have to participate, but when it came to any future kids, they would be raised Jewish.

Not only did he wholeheartedly agree to this, but decided that before we married, he would formally convert to Judaism. He even asked if he could speak to my rabbi once he proposed. It made me so happy.

Oddly enough, I have never been to a Jewish wedding (that I can remember). All my relatives who are married have been for nearly my whole life. I'm the oldest cousin on my dad's side and the second oldest on my mom's, and, as far as I know, will most likely be the first one to get engaged. So...yay for new experiences!

Anyway, I'm looking forward to learning from the seasoned veterens here =)

image 170 Invited (holy crap!)

image 98 are coming to party!

image 29 have other plans

image 43 need to respond!

Daisypath Wedding tickers

"Bside - You're just too sexy for your own good" ~ leia1979