June 2012 Weddings

Service Charge Question

So I was looking over my final catering bill today and I noticed that the service charge was included in the subtotal and I am then taxed on the subtotal amount to give me my final total. 

When I worked in the restaurant industry the service charge was always a tip for the server, and tips were never taxed directly on the guest's bill.  Is it odd that i am being taxed on the service charge?  It only comes out to be about $15 but when you are on a budget every penny counts!

TIA!
Wedding Countdown Ticker
image 203 Invited so far!
image 142 Are ready to party!
image 61 Will be missing out!
image 0 Are MIA!

Re: Service Charge Question

• This may depend on individual states.

For what it's worth mine was not taxed. We had our base price per person and then the service charge and tax were separate but based on the original price. Hopefully this makes sense.

$63 per person
    18% service charge-- 63 X .18= 11.34
    .06 sales tax---63 X .06= 3.78

63+11.34+3.78 = $78.12 per person
    June 16, 2012
  • daria24daria24 member
    First Comment First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Answer
    It depends on the state, and what the service tax covers. In PA, the service charge is taxable, because it isn't considered "gratuity" by the venue. It was actually written into my venue contract that there is a "taxable 20% service fee".
  • Ours is charging us tax on the service charge.  Rip off considering our service charge is 21% so it's already a huge chunk of change!

June 2012 August Siggy Challenge: Favourite Pro Pic (I couldn't choose just one!)
    imageDaisypath Vacation tickers Daisypath Vacation tickers Follow Me on Pinterest
  • We don't have a service charge ours flat out says gratuity which is untaxed added to the total.  Check on local laws...I'm sure it's just a google away.  If you think it's wrong contact the caterer. 
    Wedding Countdown Ticker