South Asian Weddings

India Registry Options?

My fiance is Indian (I'm American) and I'm moving to India.  We're having two weddings (we hope, if we can afford it) one here, and one in India.  From him I understand that while gifts may be given, registries are not typically done (he'd never heard of them.)

My family and friends, however, will be expecting it. Neither Ryan nor I have anything; we both live with our parents.  Ryan because it's culturally acceptable (and cheaper) there, and me because I graduated college and didn't find a job right away, and have only found low paying jobs since and have never been able to get my feet under me.  So neither of us has ever set up an apartment before, and unlike most modern couples we actually need all the kitchen stuff and dishes and the like.

But we can barely afford a wedding, we can't really afford the shipping if my American friends gave me gifts here.  So I'm thinking an online registry for a store or stores based in India would make the most sense. It'd have to be a store that could accept American credit cards, but they could ship to my FIL apartment (or ours, depending on how long before the wedding we get it).  The Indian store wouldn't necessarily have to have a registry system in place (though that'd be nice) I could use a universal registry to just pick items off their website.  But they'd have to be able to accept American currency.

Ryan's not really a help because he really has never given any of this any thought and has no idea what companies really sell household goods in his area.  And apparently while American restaurants have all seems to jumped the ocean, none of the chains I've mentioned has he ever seen there.

Any suggestions? Or is this just not going to work?
My blog