Canada

Muskoka Wedding Suggestions?

Hello everyone! I haven't picked a venue yet but I'm hoping to get married at a cottage in the Muskokas that we will be renting for the week in August 2012. We are also hoping to keep our costs low as our budget is only $10,000 with 100 guests. I was wondering if you guys have any suggestions for:
-cottage rentals (I found one on 'home away' but I'm open to suggestions) or other waterfront venues that would be budget friendly?
-catering (we were thinking something low key like gourmet burgers and pies)
-hair stylists
or any other recommendations you might have! I'm a newbie at all this! Thanks so much!
-

Re: Muskoka Wedding Suggestions?

• LittlinLittlin member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    There is a post near the bottom of this page with some Muskoka suggestions: http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/local-wedding-boards_canada_muskoka-bridesgrooms

I'm not sure if they are within the budget however, as you know that Muskoka can be expensive!  I do, however, know some people who have gotten married at their family cottage on the dock, or even out on the water and their friends all pulled their boats up to the site to watch.  I think any big venue would be more than the $10000 budget, but definitely look into cottage rental and get extra insurance if you are going to be hosting a wedding there.  I think my in-laws rent their cottage for $2500 a week, but I know they can go for much more.

There are a handful of Muskoka area brides that should be able to help too!
  • Habs2HartHabs2Hart member
    Combo Breaker First Comment First Anniversary
    edited December 2011
    I'm in a wedding here this weekend (clicky on here) and it's going to be gorgeous.  Her reception is at the active living center in Huntsville (about 30 min from the reserve) but there are plenty of places for receptions around Huntsville.  I think her budget was close to yours.