Christian Weddings

NWR: Prayer for relationship (kinda long, sorry)

For several years, the relationship between my mother and me has not been good. She primarily raised me as a single mom and we were close for alot of years. She had cancer when I was a freshman in high school so I went to class, worked full time and took care of her through the treatments. Even when I was old enough to move out on my own, I made sure she never went without and even though she had a husband, I was the one who always "came to her rescue".

Then, my father died in 2006. My parents had been divorced since I was barely 2. He bounced in and out of my life; even at the time when he passed, I hadn't seen him in 5 years. But, I'd always hoped he would come around and at some point we could have a solid relationship. I grieved for my dad... and my mother never quite understood that. I don't know if she expected me to not care, disregard him or be emotionless... But I was affected, more than even I thought I would be.