Wedding Reception Forum
Options

Food Stations? Tacky? Tasty?

Hi!
Has anyone ever been to a wedding with food stations? I've never been to one. And our caterer is trying to talk us into having them. They're much cheaper.... and they sound pretty good. But I have no experience. I'm not sure if it will be enough food.
Does anyone have any opinions?

Thanks!! : )

Re: Food Stations? Tacky? Tasty?

• Options
    Stations are actually pretty popular.  IMHO, they are a lot nicer than a standard buffet.  We did a carving station, a pasta station and a salad bar.  The first two were chef attended.  The pasta station was hugely popular.  People really enjoyed getting to choose their pasta, their sauce, and their meat/veggie options and have a fresh pasta dish.  I wanted to add on a stir fry or a quesadilla station, but we didn't have the budget. 

I think people really like the option to order their food exactly like they like it and watch it prepared right in front of them. 
  • Options
    LasairionaLasairiona member
    First Comment
    edited December 2009
    How long does it take for each person to get their food? I've heard that some caterers have the food cooked to order so that guests are standing waiting the entire time it cooks (some foods can take 30+ mins and multiply that by 100+ guests and multiple trips through each station....). While other caterers have everything pre-cooked and is just in a warming tray waiting to be dished up.

Don't assume that they are cheaper. For most caterers, they are actually more expensive because they have to have at least 100 servings of each item at each station, whether it gets eaten or not. That equates to a larger bill per person. However price varies by caterer and largely depends on where you are located. Large cities are more expensive than small towns for the exact same food.
  • Options