Wedding Reception Forum
Options

Destination wedding/reception?

I was thinking about having a destination wedding with maybe a few family members moms dads and my sister. But I was wondering how does a destination wedding work with a reception? Would I get married have a honeymoon and then come back and have a reception? I'm new to this. Thanks for all your help. I'm pretty much just worried about money. I can't really afford a wedding but I'd like to have a party/reception.

Re: Destination wedding/reception?

• Options
    Your reception would follow the ceremony on the same day, and include the people who were at the ceremony.  If it's a small group of people, then you could go to a restaurant and treat everyone to a meal.

Some people who have destination weddings have an "At-Home Reception" when they get back home.   This isn't a wedding reception (that is on your wedding day), but is more of an informal get-together to celebrate your marriage with those who weren't able to make it to your ceremony.  Generally speaking, I think these people should all be invited to the DW itself.  The At-Home-Reception is not a gift-giving event (though some people may want to give gifts), you wouldn't wear a wedding dress, have a wedding cake, do a first dance, toss a garter/bouquet, etc.  It would just be a party to celebrate your marriage.  
    DSC_9275
  • Options
    In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/wedding-boards_reception-ideas_destination-weddingreception-1?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Wedding%20BoardsForum:5Discussion:cabd3d36-ffa2-4d28-9ce0-228ad641ffd2Post:8a3286f5-45ce-430c-b3ab-22513cc00450">Destination wedding/reception?</a>: