Pennsylvania-Philadelphia
Options

Newbie here looking for a small (20-25) reception venue

Hello!  I'm Wendy.  I'm planning a wedding for May 2011.  The plan is basically a quickie ceremony at City Hall followed by a dinner reception for our closest friends and family.  It will probably be about 20-25 people, including us.  Good food, good service, and privacy are important.  Not concerned about liquor license, as we don't drink.  It will be nice, but not formal.  Prefer something in Center City Philly.

I'm actually having trouble finding a place that is small enough - a lot of the venues that advertise for events are huge.  I'd like something I could just rent out for the night, but a private room is ok, too.  The first place that came to mind (I haven't called them yet as I'm not seriously planning yet) is Bistrot la Minette...so I'm thinking along those lines. I think our total budget will be around $5,000, but less is always a plus.  Any ideas?

Thanks so much for reading.  I look forward to participating here:)

Re: Newbie here looking for a small (20-25) reception venue

• Options
    edited December 2011
    Check out the Art Alliance - it is on 18th Street near Rittenhouse Square.  I have a part-time catering job and I have worked many small weddings there.  It's unique because there is an art gallery upstairs and a private outdoor garden/courtyard.  There is also nice dining area and bar area for the size of your group. Good luck!
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    How about a restaurant in the city?   We were eating at Positano Coast once and they were having a wedding reception in the back.. it was small, I'd say 30-40 people.   Kagkiki had her reception at Estia restaurant, if you want to page her and ask her about it.  
  • Options
    laurak43laurak43 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011