Catholic Weddings

NWR: Creighton Model of NFP

I remember that there are several ladies here who use Creighton Model or are learning it, so I'm hoping you could help me out here.

I have been using the CCLI symptothermal method for ~4 years now (engagement and marriage).  When I learned, I took a class for 8 hours (4 sessions of 2 hours each) and got all my materials for something like $100 total.  Granted, this was four years ago, and the cost for the CCLI course/materials here is $135 now, but it still seems reasonable.

I have been considering switching to Creighton Model because we have not yet had success TTC and eventually may want /need a consult at the Pope Paul VI Institute in Omaha or one of its affiliated centers (for which I assume Creighton Model charts would be helpful).  After much searching, I finally found a Creighton Model teacher about an hour from us.  I emailed the teacher to request information about setting up an introductory session, etc., and she emailed me back with information and with the pricing schedule for the training.  I was a bit taken aback by the price for the training b/c it's about 4 times what my prior NFP course cost... 

I gotta admit, my husband has sticker shock and is reluctant to go to the introductory session.  I think there are two issues... First, he is very frugal and the idea of spending $400 on almost anything gives him trouble.  Second, he likes the sympto-thermal method (especially his involvement in taking my temp every morning), and doesn't understand the differences between methods or why I would like to switch (i.e., why Creighton Model would be preferable for doctors).  Apparently I've not been very good at explaining the methods?

So, Creighton Model ladies, give me some of your thoughts on switching NFP methods.  Help me persuade my husband.  Thanks!

(Warning -- I may DD this eventually b/c I'm not sure I want all this info out there forever.  Smile)

Re: NWR: Creighton Model of NFP