Catholic Weddings
Options

6 month marriage prep?

Hi lovely ladies,

I am newly engaged (yay!) and my first priority is choosing a church. I'm new to New England (formerly from the Deep South) and have been going to a few churches in the area regularly. I want to make sure that I choose a priest and a church that suits both myself and my FI (who is not Catholic but respects my faith and wants to be a part of it).

One of the things about which I'm still somewhat confused is the length of time needed for marriage prep with a priest. I am fully aware that we will have to complete pre-cana at some point. Most people tell me that we need 6 months before the wedding to meet with the priest regularly, go through inventories, etc. Yet most stories I've read seem to include just a weekend or week of this preparation.

So is it one, the other, or both? I'm somewhat concerned because my FI will be deployed in August for a year, and I want to make sure our timeline is appropriate (we're waiting until after he comes back to get married). And I'd like to have a better understanding of Catholic marriage prep before choosing a priest.

Thanks in advance!
Hard as love can be, love is the only eternal reality." -George Weigel Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: 6 month marriage prep?

• Options
    pjseabeepjseabee member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    My brother did his in one weekend,  ours will take about 6 months due to FI's school schedule.  We can't meet with our priest during the week, so it's Saturdays only and then trying to find a weekend that works for us to do the 8 hour class our priest wants us to attend.  We can't do it till October.  However, if you let your priest know ASAP about your time constraints, maybe they can help you expedite the process.   It's all up to the priest you choose.
  • Options
    ring_popring_pop member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011