Catholic Weddings
Options

Alleluia besides Celtic Alleluia?

Is anyone having a different version of the Alleluia besides the Celtic Alleluia or Alleluia, Give the Glory?  Our music director emailed those as pretty much my only two suggestions, but I want the ceremony to be slow and meditative, so these sound over-familiar and blaring to me.  (I have a music degree, so I'm really picky about these things lol)  Does anyone have any suggestions?
Anniversary
Visit The Nest!Visit The Nest!

Re: Alleluia besides Celtic Alleluia?

• Options
    ring_popring_pop member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Have a gander through these mass settings:
    http://www.hymnprint.net/index.cfm?go=cCatalog.showMassList
    Baby Birthday Ticker
    Baby #2: Surprise BFP 9.19.12, EDD 5.24.13, natural m/c 10.19.13 at 9w
  • Options
    edited December 2011

We were just given Mass of Creation or Mass of Light

• Options
    edited December 2011
    We were allowed to choose any Alleluia that we wanted, so long as we could give the organist music for it.  (The organist was the choir director, and I sang in the choir, so she gave me a lot of leeway b/c she knew I had good taste in music. Wink)   

We ended up choosing a three-fold alleluia that our parish had been using as the Alleluia on Sundays during the Easter season that year -- we got married at the tail end of the Easter season.  I wouldn't call it "meditative," though, so it probably won't work for you.

If you like more traditional Mass settings, try locating a copy of the St. Gregory hymnal or choir book.  It includes many Mass settings and hymns that are hardly ever used anymore, and some of them are gorgeous.  It was originally published in the 1930s, I think, but recently has been republished by Neumann Press. 
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    We're doing the Alleluia from the Mass of Light. I love it :)
  • Options
    edited December 2011