Catholic Weddings

Time between ceremony and reception

Hi Ladies!  This is my first time posting on this board. I've been lurking here for a while.  I'm hoping you can give me some advice! :)

My FI and I are getting married on June 2nd.  Our ceremony starts at 2:30 in the afternoon.  We are not going to have a full mass because I am not Catholic.  Our reception starts at 6:00 pm.  The church and the reception site are about 30-40 minutes apart.  I can't imagine our ceremony going past 3:30, and even accounting for 20-30 minutes for everyone to leave the church, that still means that there will be 1.5-2 hours to kill before the reception starts.  There is no way to move the reception start time up any earlier, and we obviously cannot start the ceremony any later.

Do I need to provide some other form of entertainment for this period of time?  I've been to 3 other Catholic weddings that had this amount of down time and I didn't think it was a big deal, but I'm afraid that if people end up going home/back to their hotels, then they won't come to the reception...

Cliff's notes: do I need to book something to entertain my guests for 1.5-2 hours between ceremony and reception?  TIA!
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Time between ceremony and reception

• I also having a gap, which is unpopular on the knot. I think we are going to try to do some type of hospitality suite at the hotel which is pretty close to our reception site with beer and wine and a few snacks, just so people have a place to go in between if they want to.

I recently went to FI's cousins wedding and they had nothing planned in between. They also had 2:30 ceremony and 6pm reception, although they did have a full mass. The reception was at the hotel we were staying at so we just went back to our room for the gap. Some people freshened up or even changed in between. FI's family thought nothing of this as I guess it is expected in their circle.