Florida-West Coast

Anna Maria Island Bride Needs Help!

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting here on the knot :)

My FI and I just set the date to get married at the Sandbar Restaurant on AMI December 10, 2011. My gpa lives on the island and I have been coming to the island for 25 years so I know the island pretty well. My problem is that I live in Jacksonville and all of my family lives in Ohio so all planning is on me.

Everyone has been giving me vendor lists but I have no idea who is good. Has anyone gotten married lately and have suggestions for DJ, florists, wedding coordinator, etc?

Also has anyone had success with hotels giving a block discount? We are having between 75-100 people all coming from out of town and so far the hotels aren't working with me.

Re: Anna Maria Island Bride Needs Help!

• mpgatormpgator member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Hi! I live in NYC and am also planning my wedding from afar. (My fiance's family is all coming from Ohio too!). If I were you, I would focus on getting your photographer first. All the good ones book up pretty quickly! We are going with Alicia from Pure Emotions (http://www.pureemotionsphotography.com/) Her packages come with two photographers, you get all the rights to your pics, she only does 2 weddings max a month, and she edits each picture individually- all of which were important to us. Jason Angolini is really popular on this webiste too.

As far as hotels go, another bride told me not to stress too much about them because most people are going to look up and book off of expedia anyway. We are having our wedding at the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay and so of course doing our room block with them.. I have heard of people doing room blocks at the Double Tree on Rocky Point Drive, but I'm not sure how far that is from your venue.

As far as other vendors go, you can search this board for recs or just post and everyone here is pretty responsive and helpful.

Good luck!!