New York
Options

Location advice

Total newbie to this board and to the site!!

I grew up in a suburb of Syracuse, but I've lived in another state for about 12 years (ahhh that's crazy).  Most of my family is in the Rochester area.  I am driving myself crazy trying to decide whether I should get married in the place where my fiance and I live (making it harder on family), OR in my hometown, where most of our friends would have to travel to.

Is anyone here planning a wedding "long distance?"  I'm about a 5 hour drive from my parents, and I fear that if I get married there, or even somewhere in the Finger Lakes, it will be harder to pick a venue, vendors, etc.

Thanks! Smile

Re: Location advice

• Options
    edited December 2011
    I have seen lots of girls on the board that are planning from a distance.  I am sure it's a challenge, but nothing that you can't handle with the help of friends, family and frequent flyer miles.

I would enlist as much help as you can get from locals that you trust and it may be worth your while to consider hiring a wedding coordinator/planner if the venue you decide on doesn't have one already.  They will know the ins and outs of all the wedding goodies in the area.

We are planning our ceremony here in Syracuse where we live, but the reception will be in the Finger Lakes... an hour and a half away.  Not as bad as 5 hours, but I understand the stress a little as I am still totally clueless about bakers and DJs and all that stuff.  We have relied heavily on the wedding coordinator at Glenora to provide suggestions and advice and she has been wonderful!!!