California-San Diego

Reception pricing???

I noticed some places have a "per person" price and some seem like they have only one big price. Do reception places have 2 different prices to include a flat price + per person or is it one or the other? I just need to know what to look out for. Im new to all this :).

Re: Reception pricing???

• edited December 2011
    My reception (and ceremony) site has the "per person" price for dinner, plus another price for everything else included and what we're adding on. I wish I knew more, but this is the only venue I looked at and fell in love. 
    March 2012 Siggy Challenge: Honeymoon - Undecided (NYC or DC)
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • LauraChristinLauraChristin member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I think most of the venues differ. The place I booked for my reception is $5,000 flat to rent the space. Then you bring in a caterer on top of that and the caterer charges per person because the venue doesn't do catering. Then of course there's table rentals, bar rentals etc which are also additional. Some venues you have to go with their caterer which makes the pricing structure different. Don't be afraid to call and ask the venues and ask questions even if you feel silly. The worst thing would be to incur extra expenses that you weren't aware of! :)
  • edited December 2011
    In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/local-wedding-boards_california-san-diego_reception-pricing?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Local%20Wedding%20BoardsForum:64Discussion:8dcca649-960b-4b86-af71-18724446883bPost:9ade8896-9cad-4d6a-9cb9-f8fe4fa6942f">Re: Reception pricing???</a>: