Honeymoon Discussions

Hurricane Season in the Caribbean

Hi Ladies,
FI and I are getting married in August, and have to take our honeymoon then because I am a teacher and FI generally works like a fiend.
We really want to do the Caribbean- sandy beaches, palm trees, snokeling, etc.
However, I am becoming increasingly worried about it being the hurricane season.
We considered Hawaii, but since we can only be gone a week we didn't want to spend forever getting there (a far trip from home for us), and Aruba didn't really strike our fancy. We want to go to Jamaica. Has anyone been there in August and can share their experiences? I don't mind if we get an hour-long thunderstorm everyday, what I am concerned about is having no sun at all.
Thanks ladies!

Re: Hurricane Season in the Caribbean

• We've gone to Jamaica during hurricane season.  It didn't rain all day, everyday and I can't even really say that it rained anymore than it does outside of hurricane season.

but, it is hurricane season so you have to be prepared to deal with the fact that your travel plans (to or from) as well as your trip might be affected by the weather.  There is not a "good" time to go during hurricane season; you just run the risk that a weather issue will occur.

Get good trip insurance and hope for the best is probably the only advice anyone can give you if you MUST travel to that location during that time of year.
  • We had an August wedding and were concerned about hurricanes too.  We decided on Aruba (the only 3 islands that are pretty much 100% safe are Aruba, Bonaire, and Curacao).  It was absolutely fantastic and we didn't have a drop of rain.  The rest of the caribbean during that week was getting POUNDED by hurricanes- so badly that most flights were cancelled.  It ended up being a very very wise decision!!!