Honeymoon Discussions

St Lucia vs Costa Rica

I think this is my first time posting on this board  but read it almost every day!

I am in desperate need to determine our honeymoon spot and by the title of this post I am sure you can see what I am stuck between. I never thought costa rica was going to be a final contender but they have beautiful hotels and we will prob do a few nights in one area and a few in another. I want a 5 star resort with top of the line amenities an dwe have found a few in Costa Rica that could work.

As for St lucia, I have heard great things about the Sandals La toc resort. Love that it caters to adults and has more of an upbeat party feel. The only downfall is there is 0 gambling and my FI requested that, but said he would live without it if the place was fun...

I would love to hear your thoughts and experiences. we plan on going for 10 days maybe more if needed. I want to make the right decision and I am getting nervous about making the "final" decision!!

thanks!

Re: St Lucia vs Costa Rica

• We had a good experience in Costa Rica, although not on our honeymoon!  I've never been to St. Lucia so I can't compare the two- is there anything specific you were wondering about for Costa Rica? 

We weren't really in luxury resorts while we were there.  We flew into and out of San Jose but split most of our time between three areas- Monteverde, Arenal, and Manuel Antonio.  It was a very active trip with lots of hiking, kayaking, zip lines, etc.  We had a little bit of rain almost every day but it didn't really negatively impact us.  Costa Rica has excellent tourist infrastructure, but I found it lacking a bit in "cultural" activities.  What time of year are you thinking of going?

Pittsburgh sig: Favorite thing about fall= college football!
    Vacation