Retro and Vintage Weddings
Options

new knottie seeks inspiration/ideas!! :)

Hi everyone!! I'm kinda new to the knot boards... i posted this question in the regular boards before i realized there was theme boards! so here it goes...

i LOVE the 1940's style, look, everything! so i know the music i will have, and i know the look i want for myself and the whole wedding party. i DONT, however, know what to do with the reception!! [decor, flowers, centerpieces, favors, etc...] im thinking like romantic-vintage or hollywood glam? i guess it could have a 30's-40's feel to it.... we also dont have a TON of money to spend... we got engaged less than a month ago and the wedding will be in may of 2011, so i have nothing "set" and havent really made any decisions... i guess i just want a bunch of ideas to choose from? thanks in advance!! <3

Re: new knottie seeks inspiration/ideas!! :)

• Options

Im doing a theme that is a little older than you might like (1910's) but there are a ton of cute ideas that still worked in the 1940s!!  You could gdo a giftcard station with an old birdcage, and tape 1940's postcards on the inside of it....thatr looks adorable.  Ill also send you a link to the invites Im using, they are art-deco 1930s.....

I changed the font to an art deco style and the paper is metallic silver, but you get the idea....there are tons on this website!
    http://www.zazzle.com/black_damask_wedding_invitations-161185218689423684

• Options
    At the top also, there are lots of Vintage Knotties with Planning Bio's...good place to get ideas from.  I'm also going for a Romantic-Vintage type theme, you can check out my bio if you'd like.

Plus, there are a ton of blogs as well.  Just take a look around at the topics here and click on Bio's etc.  You'll get a TON of ideas.  GL!  :)
  • Options
    I'm doing Vintage/Spanish/Romantic for my wedding...
    Here are some images of items I'm using.

I got these at Oriental Trading Company

These from Pier One