Just Engaged and Proposals

Is waiting over a year going to be torture??

I am newly engaged and just starting to try to navigate the planning process.  I am a teacher, so I was thinking the best time for a wedding would be early June. I would be out of school and could get situated/moved in, etc.  We have no breaks in the fall until Thanksgiving, so I couldn't go on a honeymoon then.  I really don't like cold weather, so I don't want to have the wedding in the winter.  I guess planning for June 2012 would be too soon to get everything together, also I don't want to rush it.  But if we wait until next year, that'll be over a year!  We are in our mid 30s and I'm just feeling like I don't want to wait a whole year!  We have been together for over 2yrs.  Maybe we could do a tropical destination wedding over the Christmas break?  Help!
Wedding Countdown Ticker White Knot

Re: Is waiting over a year going to be torture??

• A year will fly by before you know it! My FI and I decided on a two year engagement due to me deciding to finish my degree, and its already flying by! In the scheme of things, one year is not long to wait. Do what is best for you both, if a desitination wedding is what you want, thats great, you just have to realize if you want guests, Christmas is a very expensive time and people may not be able to go. Good lukc with everything and congrats!
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • I was in a similar situation.  I got engaged in January of last year and I'm a teacher. Due to similar reasons, we set the date for this June.  Honestly, I liked having a longer time; I have yet to feel stressed.  It was nice to take a few months break after booking the major things like venue, photographer, caterer, etc.  

So far, it has been a very smart decision for us.  We weren't in a big rush to get married; we have the rest of our lives for that. Besides, we've already been together 7 years, so we wanted to take the time to do the way we wanted. 
    Follow Me on Pinterest