Just Engaged and Proposals
Options

No Idea

Hello!

So I'm thinking about proposing to my girlfriend on Christmas Eve, and have many questions.  First - I have no idea what to do about the ring.  I'm a medical student, so I don't have very much of a budget but do have plenty of debt already.  I think I could probably swing around $1500 - I have no idea if that's even a good amount or not.

About the ring - my girlfriend has next to no jewelry, and only wears pearl earrings I bought her.  I've never seen her wear a ring in the 4 years we've been dating!  The only things she's said is that she once made fun of a ring where the central diamond was popping out, saying that it looked funny that it was just on this huge pedastal.  Almost mocking the "hey look at me, I'm a huge diamond" aspect of some rings.  Her overall style is consistent with that.  I wouldn't say she's plain, but I would say that she is a fan of jeans.  We're also both "country folk", in that we live simple and non-extravagent lives.  Although, she does love nice, expensive, and top of the line things, but just things like electronics and cooking materials (i.e. won't settle for anything less than the absolute highest end pots and pans, All Clad copper core).  She's never shown an interest in jewelry besides pearl and diamond earrings, and has openly talked about her dislike of cheap jewelry that she may get from some random person for Christmas (i.e. grandma rings/bracelets/necklaces).

Based on that, I was thinking of getting a lower profile kind of ring, like the 3 stone or "side stone" rings I've been seeing, but I just don't know.  Does anyone have any advice or experience with a similar situation?  I don't want to get something and have her secretly hate it, but I equally don't like the idea of having her pick the ring out herself (we're probably a little too traditional for that).

Is my budget sufficient, or should I try to wait and save more?  What should I shoot for?