Students
Options

Wedding a month before graduation...good idea?

So I'm a full time student, and the FI is going to be taking a class or two at a community college starting next semester. The FI's lucky number is 13 and wants to get married on Friday the 13th.  

In 2012 there are three Friday the 13ths: January, April, and July.  We live in Nebraska, so January's out.  Originally we were looking at the July date, which would be nice because it's after I graduate, so I'll have more free time before the wedding.  However, I'm worried that if I happen to get a job right away that I wont be able to take off two weeks after a month of working there.  So that made me look at April.  It's exactly a month before graduation, and so we could take our HM right after graduation.  

I know that it would not be ideal to have to go back to school after the weekend of the wedding for two weeks, then one week of finals, and one week off before graduation.  But I feel like it makes more sense, and wont have me being scared to apply for jobs in a year.  

Re: Wedding a month before graduation...good idea?

• Options
    If you're upfront with your employer after they give you an offer (AFTER they give you an offer) and before you accept about your wedding, I doubt that that will cause them to withdraw an offer of employment. Doesn't seem like the April wedding would be worth the stress to me.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Options
    I think I would be really stressed out if this were me. Not to sound like a math dork, but since 13 is the number you want to stay with...could you pick a month and a date that add up to 13? like the third of october or something like that? If you are leaning toward April, then just do it.
  • Options