Students

Wedding Planning and Teaching.....at the same time?

Hey everyone!
I'm new to the knot and wanted to stop by and say hi.  I will admit I was surprised to see a board for students.  It was a relief though.  Anyone have any advice for a bride who will be doing her student teaching while trying to plan a wedding?

Re: Wedding Planning and Teaching.....at the same time?

• Hi, I can't remember if I posted this on your intro board for September 2011 but welcome! I am not student teaching but I am a full time teacher while trying to plan. Right now I am trying to get everything done that I possibly can because I know that during the year I will have no time (I am pretty sure I am going to get stuck with an overload next year). Besides trying to get stuff out of the way before you student teach, I would also schedule time each day to work on something relaxing. When I student taught, I made sure I went to the gym for an hour a day for stress release. There is going to be so much going on and so many stressful situations that sometimes you just need an hour of non-teaching time. That time could be spent having dinner with your FI or going to the gym or working on wedding stuff. Just don't let yourself get so overwhelmed with teaching (because it is overwhelming). Also, do NOT do anything wedding related at school (or inapproriate) because if your cooperating teachers find out they will mention when they are called for references. We had a student teacher last fall who mentioned (not in front of students but just in the teachers lounge in front of the dc and his cooperating teacher) that he occasionally does cocaine. Needless to say, he did not get very good references and was not considered for the opening they had for this upcoming year.