Students

Living Apart for Year 1

This could be seen as a bit of a vent, and I'll try to be short.

I'm a grad student in clinical psych, and we have to do an internship our final year before we graduate.  The process to obtain an internship is awful, long, and crazy-competitive. In order to try and get one, I applied all over the country.  

Eventually (and I'm cutting out tons of heartache and stress), I did get an internship that is in Los Angeles.   We live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I do not like LA and have 0 plans to make the relocation any longer than the required 12 months.  So, while it would be theoretically possible for FI to move with me (he works for a large, national airline), we have decided that he will stay in the Bay and I will go to LA, since it's definitely the best move for his career given that the move wouldn't be permanent.

We get married May 21st.
I start this internship on July 5th.
I'm there until next June.

Having the benefits of free standby flights because of FI's job is great...but we still will be living apart for a year, and FI doesn't have Sat-Sun weekends because of the job, so it isn't even like we would have two full days together each week or whatever.

We've been together for 4 1/2 years and living together for 3 1/2, so this will be a BIG change for us.
We know we'll work it out, but it just makes me sad.

Re: Living Apart for Year 1

• This sucks!  I'm sorry that you're going through this, but I respect the fact that you are both keeping your careers a priority.  Personally, I'm not strong enough to go through something like that, so kudos to you and your FI :)

Just a little encouragement, though:  My cousin and his wife lived apart for almost a year due to career reasons as well.  He got a job in Delaware and she was still living in Upstate New York.  I know it was very difficult for them, but we all said that if they could make it through that, then they could make it through anything.

And they did.