Students

Should I take a semester off to plan the wedding?

Curious if any of you girls did not take a semster off to plan your wedding.... is it do-able or would you recommend taking a break? Thanks a lotLaughing
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Should I take a semester off to plan the wedding?

• No - I'm planning our wedding right now for next May 2012 and I'm a full-time student and part-time employee and also do volunteer work.  It is definitely doable during school --  just plan ahead, do as much as you can possibly do on breaks and in advance, and you'll be good.  For example, this semester is my last semester of core classes before I begin my upper level dietetics courses, which are going to be very hard and time consuming.  Knowing that, I have already booked the full-service venue, have a cake person lined up, contracted a photographer, contracted a DJ, have save-the-dates done, invitations picked out (waiting on a coupon to buy), guest list almost finalized as much as possible, etc.  Doing it all now since I know I can't later.

You'll be just fine -- just stay as organized as possible and work ahead when possible.  Good luck!
    Anniversary Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • EnamiEnami member
    First Comment
    I wouldn't take the time off just to plan. FI and I got engaged in October, and started planning in December, which gave us a year and a half. We sat down and scheduled when we would start adressing "x" and when it needed to be resolved by, all within breaks. We plan on DIYing as much as possib;le, so we looked at decorations and the best seasons to get those decorations (lights=after Christmas, summrey things=end of summer). I thought we'd be fine doing it during school. But turns out I'm probably taking the semester before the wedding off because we're having a baby in September, and I don't plan on going back to school full time until after FI graduates, which is August 2012.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml