Students

New to this Board... Career advice needed (law vs. insurance)

Hey ladies, I don't know if I have ever posted here but I need to vent a little. I graduate May 1st with a degree in finance. I have been working for a Personal Injury law firm for 2+ years. I would like to get a job in insurance or banking but that search isn't going well. I have found other law jobs that I am more qualified for but I am afraid to get stuck in the law industry and not have much room to move up.  I don't have much desire to go to law school but at the same time, I cant be picky about a job right now. What do you think?

Re: New to this Board... Career advice needed (law vs. insurance)

• HinajHinaj member
    First Comment
    Don't go into law if you won't be happy with it for a long time.  Its true the economy is bad, but there is no reason to compromise on your dream.  Find something temp like PP said, and wait for the job that you will be happy with. 

As someone once told me, you should be able to wake up in the morning with a smile that you are going to work!! (Being excited to go to work) LOL.  And that will only happen if you do something you love. 
  • HinajHinaj member
    First Comment
    Btw, Welcome to the board!!! 
  • I'm a law student, and there is no way I could survive this amount of work and stress if it weren't the exact career I wanted to go into.  Even then, there are days I wish I'd picked something else, due to law school stress.  If its not your passion, don't do it!
  • In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/special-topic-wedding-boards_students_new-this-board-career-advice-needed-law-vs-insurance?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Special%20Topic%20Wedding%20BoardsForum:684Discussion:95b610f2-493d-4501-bd7a-2bbfe575f469Post:d8116684-df8c-46cc-ad87-7416ae39671b">Re: New to this Board... Career advice needed (law vs. insurance)</a>: