Students

Wait till we graduate?

So my FI and I just recently got engaged and told our families. The problem is that most of them want us to wait till we are finished with college. I will graduate in May but my FI isn't sure it could be anywhere from 2-5 more years of school. we have already been together 4 years and I don't think it should matter when and want to get married sometime 2013. The person I worry about breaking this info to is my future MIL because she is using our engagement to hurry him into finishing school which I also think is wrong. Does anyone have any advice on how I can tell her this without her completely freaking out? Or is it a better decision to follow her advice and wait?

Re: Wait till we graduate?

• edited January 2012
    Perhaps make a sort of "compromise." Wait until after you graduate, and maybe do it over one of his breaks? That may make her feel a little better.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • I have the same issue! I am a sophomore and so is he. He is a little older than me because he just recently became a marine veteran. My father, aunts, uncles, and grandparents and his parents all want us to wait until we finish school which could be 2 or 3 years for both of us. We have already been engaged over a year and want to get married in 2013. We finally just decided to start making plans for it and shoot for the date we want and see what happens. Yes its not what our families want but it is OUR life and we have to start making decisions for ourselves. I sympathize with you about pleasing the family and it is hard to find a balance but you cannot make everyone happy. Go for the day you want and like jbrobst said plan it during the summer or on one of his breaks so he won't be pressured with schoolwork that needs to get done on your big day. And that will also hopefully put his mother a little more at ease about his performance in school.