Students

father doesn't know yet..

Hey everyone,
 I just got engaged about two months ago. I am in my last semester of college, graduating next month and heading straight to grad school. Both families are so excited about the engagement but, my father doesn't know my fiance exists and I can't tell him because it would be a religious no-no. My fiance converted to Islam, we are both taking lessons at the moment, I don't know much about the religion myself. He is going to ask my father's permission in a few weeks just so that when he does the uproar won't effect my final exams. My question is, how much planning should I do? The wedding is in August, end of August. My father is the one with the funds to pay, if he is willing, if not then my mother and my fiance's family will help out. 
I don't know how much planning to do. This is such a tough position to be in. The wedding is going forth with or without his permission but I just can't wait for my father to know all about my life..
Advice? 
Thanks and sorry for the long post.

Re: father doesn't know yet..

• Tell your father.  You clearly want him to be a part of everything.  IF he has a problem with your FI for his religion (hopefully not), telling him sooner rather than later will give him time to adjust to the idea and get on board before the wedding.

If the wedding is happening regardless of what your dad says, I would start planning.  Plan the wedding you can afford, and then you won't have to worry about money coming through.