Arizona-Phoenix

Photographer

I am a wedding photographer, and while self promotion is not allowed; advice is. I always hear, "What should I look for?" or "Who should I use?" The answer is simple. If you want the best photographer, then you have to do your homework and find the one that works for you. Everyone will have a different "best" photographer. These guides should help you find your perfect match:

1) Find someone with a style that matches yours. For example, do not pick a 70yr old photographer, if you are a 24yr old "hip" couple, as this will generally always end badly. Look for someone with your pop and appeal. Do not get a standard poser, if you want a photo-journalist to cover your whole day. 

2) Make sure that your photographer uses professional, industry standard equipment. Ask them for their equipment specifics. They should be using a 20+ mega-pixel camera, with pro-grade lenses. On your wedding day, make sure your photographer uses the best, because you deserve it!

3) Make sure you get someone that does weddings with 2 shooters. It is just ridiculous to think that one person will get everything. All of the worlds top wedding photographers use a second shooter, even the ones that have been doing it for 20+ years and will not look at a wedding for less than $10,000. The best case scenario, is to find a man/woman team. Then she can be in the dressing room with you, and he can be with the groom, plus you will get the two different perspectives.

4) Do an engagement shoot. Get to know your photographer BEFORE they are in your face for 8-14hrs on your wedding day. It is stressful enough, and the last thing you want is to find out that you dislike them right before the most important day of your life. Personality is everything. See if they treat you like a friend or like a cash cow.