Illinois-Chicago
Options

Photographers: Price

I'm new to this and have no idea what a photographer should cost. I found some around $1400 and i really like the work, but I also found one for $595. That seems like a big difference to me. It makes me weary. Is it a "you get what you pay for" kind of thing? What should I expect to pay and get for my money?
Thanks

Re: Photographers: Price

• Options
    edited December 2011
    I feel like photographers are a total "get you pay for" deal.  We are paying a tad over $2k for ours.  We are not doing a videographer, and to me the photos are very important - they will last a lifetime.  I wanted them to be perfect.  I was willing to pay a bit more for photos and a bit less on something else that didn't mean as much to me (ie: flowers). 

I'm positive you can find a great photographer within your budget... just make sure you know what your budget is first!

Good Luck!
    AlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickers Image and video hosting by TinyPic image BFP Chart BFP 10/7/11 EDD 6/20/12 HB@7w 114
  • Options
    morgie44morgie44 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Photography is 100% you get what you pay for IMO.  Did you compare the packages of the two photographers?  Also it is VERY important if you are working with a studio to make sure that the photos you are seeing were taken by YOUR photographer, not just someone at the firm.   It is also important to see an entire wedding or at least the best of one wedding/blog post and not just the portfolio.  The portfolio is the best of the photographer's work.  Any photographer who works professionally is going to get a few great looking pics over time, but what makes someone good is consistently getting great images. 
  • Options
    edited December 2011